Due to the demand in the number of marriage licenses requested, the Carteret County Register of Deeds has adjusted the cutoff time to 4:30 p.m.
Requirements / Obtaining a License
To obtain a marriage license, both parties must be present with valid photo identification AND Social Security Cards. To obtain a marriage license under the age of 18, please contact the Register of Deeds Office. Applicants 18 to 20 years of age must provide a certified copy of their birth certificate. Divorced applicants must provide the month and year of their last divorce. If the divorce was finalized within 1 year of applying for the license, the applicant must provide an original or certified copy of the divorce decree or death certificate as well. There is no waiting period between the divorce and applying for the new license.
Applicants who wish to obtain a marriage license in Carteret County may complete their application at the Carteret County Register of Deeds Office prior to your visit. Both parties should be present when applying for the marriage license. The marriage may be performed anywhere within the state of North Carolina.
Applicants must show proof of identity by showing acceptable forms of valid government issued photo ID which include:
- Social Security Card (REQUIRED)
- If the applicant has never been issued a Social Security Number, an affidavit must be completed. Affidavit forms are located in the Register of Deeds Office and must be completed in our office.
- One of the following picture IDs below:
- State I.D. Card
- Driver's License
- Military I.D.
The fee for a marriage license is $60, cash and credit card accepted.
The marriage ceremony must be performed in North Carolina. The marriage license is valid 60 days from the date of issuance. On the 61st day, the license expires.
Marriages may be performed by an ordained minister of any religious denomination, a minister authorized by a church, a magistrate, federally or state recognized Indian nation or tribe or any other person authorized to solemnize a marriage under the laws of this State.
The Carteret County Magistrate's Office performs marriages by appointment only. Magistrate fees are $50 (cash only) and must have two witnesses 18 years age or older. They are located at 308 Craven Street, Beaufort, NC 28516. Please call 252-504-4543 to schedule an appointment.
Obtaining a Certified Copy of Your Marriage License
You may purchase a certified copy of your marriage license filed in Carteret County by visiting the Register of Deeds office, by mail at 302 Courthouse Square, Beaufort, NC 28516 or online at Carteret County Online Vital Record Request website. The cost for a certified copy is $10, cash or credit card accepted. Please note additional processing fees apply when requesting certified copies online.
Carteret County Register of Deeds can only provide copies of marriage licenses that were issued in Carteret County. For marriage licenses issued outside Carteret County, contact the county where the marriage license was issued.
In Person Requests:
To obtain a certified copy of a vital record in person you may come into our office located at 302 Courthouse Square, Beaufort, NC 28516. When requesting a certified copy of a vital record in office, you must complete a request form and present a government issued photo I.D.
Certified copies of certifications are available only to the following people:
- A person requesting a copy of his or her own vital records or that of the person's parent, spouse, sibling, grandparent, grandchild, stepparent, or stepchild
- A person seeking information for a legal determination of personal or property rights
- An authorized agent, attorney, or legal representative of a person described above
To obtain a birth, death and/or marriage certificate online please visit Carteret County Online Vital Record Request website. Please note additional processing fees apply when requesting certified copies online.
To request a copy via mail:
- Submit a written request: Must include your full name (maiden name if applicable), your spouse's full name (maiden name if applicable), date of marriage and a contact number.
- A photo copy of your valid government issued photo ID
- A self-addressed stamped envelope
- A money order or cashier's check for $10 made payable to the Carteret County Register of Deeds.
- Form available here.