Beach Commission

The purpose of the Carteret County Beach Commission is to identify and develop plans, strategies, and programs to restore and maintain wide sandy beaches and dunes through environmentally sensitive beach nourishment, dune management, vegetation management, and sand management principles. The Board is committed to obtain funding at the federal, state, and local level for beach nourishment and storm protection that will prevent and mitigate further erosion of the existing shoreline. The Board supports policies and procedures that comply with all federal, state, and local requirements. The Board will strive to develop prudent management strategies for sustaining the productivity and economy of our coastal land and seascapes.

Statutory Authorization: Session Law 2013-223 House Bill 553 and Session Law 2001-381 House Bill 698
Member Specifications: 11 members
Term: 3 year
Compensation: None

Meeting Date: Fourth Monday of the Month
Meeting Time: 2 p.m.
Meeting Place: Town of Emerald Isle, 7500 Emerald Drive, Emerald Isle, NC 28594

Contact: Ryan Davenport, Carteret County Shore Protection Office, Manager - (252) 241-3264

Member NameDesignationTerm Expiration
Jimmy FarringtonCommissionerJanuary 31, 2024
Danny Navey, ChairAtlantic BeachJanuary 31, 2024
Austin WatersAtlantic BeachJanuary 31, 2025
Darryl MarshallAt-Large - Bogue BanksJanuary 31, 2025
Brooks GrahamAt-Large - CountyJanuary 31, 2025
Jason HollandEmerald IsleJanuary 31, 2025
Thomas RuleEmerald IsleJanuary 31, 2026
Donald HardyIndian BeachJanuary 31, 2026
John BrodmanPine Knoll ShoresJanuary 31, 2026
Larry CorselloPine Knoll ShoresJanuary 31, 2024
Kyle Bohannon LagosTDA RepresentativeJanuary 31, 2025