Patrol Division

The Patrol Division is the backbone of the law enforcement component of the Sheriff's Office and provides the first line of law enforcement response for the communities of Carteret County. It is the responsibility of the Patrol Division to respond to every type of call for service from barking dog to a fatal motor vehicle accident or homicide scene. 

The Patrol Division, directed by the Patrol Captain, is comprised of both the East and West Patrol Divisions. It consists of four Patrol Lieutenants and four Sergeants and they are responsible for responding to calls for service, crime prevention, and maintaining order. The four Patrol Squads work in fixed shifts providing services 24 hours a day, seven days a week.