Learning the laws regulating the use of firearms is a must for responsible ownership. Local regulations differ and laws vary from state to state. Citizens must check with the jurisdiction where the gun is to be used.
The Sheriff and his staff are required to follow strict state guidelines when performing the necessary background checks for Concealed Handgun Permits (CHP). Due to the nature of the detailed due diligence, appointment times and processing times can take multiple weeks. During the application process, you will be asked to schedule an appointment for New and Renewal CHP permits. Please note that you will be asked to pay now to reserve your appointment. In accordance with NCGS 14-415.13(a), Concealed Handgun Permits MUST be obtained from the Sheriff of your county of RESIDENCE.
Please read all of the following requirements carefully before completing the application as. you must meet all of them in order to be issued a Concealed Handgun Permit. A Concealed Handgun Permit may be applied for online or at the Carteret County Sheriff's Office.
- Be twenty-one (21) years of age
- Pass a criminal background check
- Be a resident of Carteret County and a resident of North Carolina for thirty (30) days
- Be a citizen or naturalized citizen of the United States of America or a lawful permanent resident alien
- Not suffer from any mental or physical infirmity which would prevent safe handgun handling and operation
- Provide a valid NC Driver's License or NC ID Card displaying your current Carteret County residential address
- Successfully complete a firearms training and safety course that has been designed by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Standards Commission
- Effective December 1, 2015, North Carolina General Statute 14-404(e1) requires applicants to sign a release of court orders concerning mental health and capacity
Step 1: Complete Application
The Carteret County Sheriff's Office allows citizens to apply for a Concealed Handgun Permit online or in-person. Please note there is a $4.00 plus a credit card convenience fee to apply online or in-person, non-refundable.
Online Application: The application can be completed online through the Online Concealed Handgun Permit Program. After completing the online portion of the application, you must come to the Sheriff's Office at the appointment time you reserved during the application process.
Apply In-Person: The application and Release of Court Orders Concerning Mental Health and Capacity can either be downloaded by clicking on the links below or picked up in-person at the Carteret County Sheriff's Office. Once both forms have been completed, you must bring them to the Sheriff's Office and turn them in for processing. Do not sign the application upon completion. All applications are taken under oath and notarized and must be signed before a Notary Public or Carteret County Sheriff's Office personnel.
- Concealed Gun Permit Application
- Release of Physical and Mental Health, Substance Abuse and Confidential Court Records for Concealed Handgun Permit
|Permit Type||Fee Amount|
|Original Concealed Handgun Permit|
|Renewal Concealed Handgun Permit|
|Duplicate Concealed Handgun Permit|
Step 2: Wait for Application to be Processed
Once the Concealed Handgun Permit Application has been submitted and the Release of Physical and Mental Health, Substance Abuse and Confidential Court Records for Concealed Handgun Permit has been returned to the Sheriff's Office, it may take up to 45 days after the background check is completed. The process generally takes 60-90 days from the date of application. If the application for a permit is denied, the applicant will be notified in writing, stating the reason for the denial. An applicant may appeal the denial, revocation, or non-renewal of a permit by petitioning the Chief District Court Judge.
Step 3: Pick Up Permit
Upon notification of approval, the applicant must come to the Carteret County Sheriff's Office and provide a valid NC Driver's License of NC ID with the correct address of military ID with proof of residency in Carteret County to pick up the permit. No other forms of identification will be accepted. No one will be allowed to pick up your permit for you.
If you applied in-person, payments for Concealed Handgun Permits may be made in the form of Cash only. You must provide exact change. You MUST show proof of residency and a Picture ID with correct address. No PO Box.
Renewal Process for Concealed Handgun Permits
If applying to renew a Concealed Handgun Permit you would not need to bring another copy of your Firearms Safety Course Certificate or DD-214 form, unless you have completed another term of military service. A criminal background check will be conducted on all applicants. It is the applicant's responsibility to renew the permit before it expires. The permit will expire at Midnight on the date listed on the card. If a permit expires, an individual may not carry his or her weapon concealed until a new permit has been received by the applicant.
- If you are RENEWING a Concealed Handgun Permit, you MUST apply PRIOR to your expiration date, but no more than 90 days prior to the expiration date.
- If your permit has EXPIRED, but it has been LESS than 60 days since the permit expired, you will be required to apply as a NEW APPLICANT, be fingerprinted, and pay the $81.00 fee, but you will not be required to submit a new training certificate. This is at the discretion of the Sheriff.
- If MORE than 60 days has passed since your permit EXPIRED, you must retake the CONCEALED HANDGUN TRAINING COURSE, apply as a NEW APPLICANT, and submit the NEW TRAINING CERTIFICATE with the application.
Change-of-Address Procedure for Concealed Handgun Permits
You must appear in person at the Carteret County Sheriff's Office within 30 days of a change of address. If you are moving out of Carteret County, DO NOT go to Sheriff's Office until you have personally appeared in Carteret County and completed the above-mentioned change-of-address process. The Sheriff's Office in the county to which you have moved cannot make any changes until Carteret County releases your records.
Any time you have a change of residence, you must appear in person to complete a change-of-address form. At that point, you will be given a change of address, which indicates that you have made notification of your address change. You must carry this in addition to your current Concealed Handgun Permit.
If you have any questions regarding the Concealed Handgun Permit Application Process, please call the Sheriff's Office at (252) 728-8400.
Gaining competency with firearms is like learning to drive a car or fly an airplane. You need expert instruction and practice. There is no shortcut. If you are not willing to invest the time and effort to become competent, then having a firearm and trying to use it can, in many instances, be more hazardous than any impending threat.