News Flash

News Releases

Posted on: July 18, 2023

Members of the Carteret County Board of Elections take oaths of office

20230718 BOE Oaths

CARTERET COUNTY, NC (July 18, 2023) – The Carteret County Board of Elections is pleased to announce that its appointed members have taken their oaths of office.

Carteret County Clerk of Court Ken Raper joined Carteret County Board of Elections Tuesday to formally swear in Democrats Susan Cuthrell, Gerald Godette, and Lucia Bond, along with Republicans Dale Gillikin and Jeanette Deese. Cuthrell will continue chairing the board. The board unanimously elected Deese to continue as the board’s secretary.

The State Board of Elections met last month to formally approve boards of elections members in each county. State law requires each county’s Republicans and Democrats to recommend three members to the state parties. The state board then approves four total members to the county board of elections, including two from each party. The governor appoints a chairperson.

The board’s duties include conducting local elections, operating voting sites, maintaining voter registration lists, appointing judges and assistants at voting sites and certifying election results. State law outlines restitutions on political speech while serving on the board, and those elected or campaigning for office are not eligible.

The five members will serve two-year terms through July 2025, working diligently to ensure fair and transparent elections for all residents of Carteret County. Work on November’s municipal elections is well underway.

For more information about the Carteret County Board of Elections and its responsibilities, please visit


Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in News Releases

20231013 Updated Vaccine

Updated COVID-19 vaccine now available

Posted on: October 13, 2023
Emergency Services Information - CCATS UPDATE

CCATS adjusts service due to Idalia

Posted on: August 30, 2023
Preparedness Month

September is National Preparedness Month

Posted on: September 1, 2022

One-Stop Early Voting starts Thursday

Posted on: April 21, 2022